In the home stretch

Serrano has been blocked, and one sleeve has been sewn on. The collar has been knitted, and is patiently awaiting my needle, too.

Did I ever mention how much I hate the finishing portion of knitting? I have spent hours and hours actually knitting the garment, and rejoiced when I finished the last stitch and set it out to block. I even stayed up late to finish blocking it, because I was so pleased to be done. Then, the next day, I faced the truth: I am not done. I still have two sleeves and a mile of collar to sew. I despaired. I threw the pattern across the room, yelling “Don’t fuck with me, pattern!”  Still, I managed to sew on one whole sleeve, and part of another. I’m hoping that I can get the rest of it mostly done tonight. Thank god there are no side seams.

I have another dilemma, too. The pattern calls for “hook and eye tape,” which I haven’t been able to find anywhere. I’m thinking about putting a zipper in instead, but that means lots and lots (and lots) more sewing. I’m not sure.

I hope to have pictures of the (mostly) finished Serrano tomorrow.

0 Responses to “In the home stretch”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


