Uncertainty makes me knit faster.

The season finale of CSI: Las Vegas (AKA the best TV show in the entire universe) is on tonight. I’m all aflutter, because I’ve been hearing that Sara Sidle may die. I am heavily invested in this show, and don’t want the Sara/Grissom relationship to go away. Yes, I am lame. I am so lame that I have already decided what knitting to do while watching tonight, so as to utilize the TV/knitting blend as best as I can. I always knit while I watch TV, and I’ve been known to knit through movies I find sucky (Ghost Rider, anyone?). When there’s a show on that requires more of my attention, like Heroes or CSI, I choose a WIP that doesn’t require much attention. For example, I am on the sleeves of Juno currently, so that’s what I’ll be working on tonight. I expect I’ll be able to get a good deal of them done, too. I generally do two sleeves at once; I would have quite a few vests or one-armed sweaters otherwise.

On other fronts, I’m trying to figure out a pattern for my Sockapalooza pal. I’m torn. I don’t know if I should email her, asking what sorts of pattern she prefers, or just go with what I think will work. She prefers shorter socks, which I have less experience with. I have a few patterns in mind. There’s Simply Lovely Lace socks, from Interweave Knits Spring 2006 (I’ve made these before, and they rock), or a basic lace pattern stolen from a stitch dictionary (I’m thinking sheaves of wheat), or Cookie A’s twisted flower socks. Now, I really would like to finish try a pair of these, but there are a few problems. One, cable patterns tend to annoy me. Two, these are full length socks, and I’m not sure how I would shorten them. If I could shorten them to a length of, say, 5 or 6 inches, they would be perfect. I already own the pattern, so I should just take a look at it to see if it would be easy to shorten.  I know that pattern would be quite awesome with the yarn I’ve chosen.  Still, I’m not sure.

2 Responses to “Uncertainty makes me knit faster.”


  1. 1 Danielle M May 17, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Is it possible to just work fewer repeats? (I’m not familiar with this particular pattern, but have worked many patterns, often altering the length. ) I knit Dashing from Knitty and didn’t want them so long, so I lessened the number of knit rows between cable rows. Maybe something like that would work here??

  2. 2 kissmyfrog May 17, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    I don’t actually own this pattern, but after staring long and hard at it (and all of Cookie’s other patterns) over the last two weeks, trying to decide what to knit for my sockpal, I think you could get away with just one repeat of the lace pattern. You already own the pattern so you may as well bite the bullet and swatch it.
    If it doesn’t work, you can always frog and start over (that actually seems like sage advice when it’s not me!). [Lurches off laughing like a mad scientist].


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


