An anklet? The uncertainty continues.


Here is my dilemma. As suggested by my wise sockapalooza comrades, I decided to forge ahead with the twisted flower pattern and hopefully find some way to shorten it. Since I’m the sort of person who likes to fly by the seat of their pants, I just went ahead and started the pattern. No swatching for me! Here we see one repeat completed (the green sock). One repeat is 3 inches. Next to the green sock is a completed anklet (from Lace Style), and the leg of that sock measures 4 inches. So, this is a problem. If I complete another full repeat of the twisted flower pattern, the leg of my sock will be 6 inches, which I would say is too long. Or is it? Maybe 6 inches is already short enough. Who knows?

My current plan is to only do 1 or 2 of the “leaves” instead of 3 as written in the pattern, then go straight to the cable part. I don’t see any way to shorten the cable part, anyway. Each leaf measures roughly a half inch. Fingers crossed that it will work out.

Sometimes I think I overanalyze/obsess about these sorts of things.

6 Responses to “An anklet? The uncertainty continues.”


  1. 1 sb May 21, 2007 at 11:01 am

    For me, and anklet sock is anywhere between 1″-4″ cuff. 6″-9″ hits me mid-calf. If your pal asked for an anklet, I think you’re in the clear to do the heel now.

  2. 2 alison May 21, 2007 at 11:04 am

    I totally think that one repeat would work. It’s a short sock, just like you said she wanted. It certainly isn’t an anklet in the sense of being a footie or anything. It looks like it’s just enough to call it an actual sock but not be a tall sock.

    And it looks gorgeous!!

  3. 3 carola May 21, 2007 at 11:18 am

    I agree, one repeat will perfectly do the job for a short sock. Just start the heel now. Too bad that I haven’t mentioned “short socks” in my questionnaire, so they are definitely not for me. However, the green yarn displays the structure of the pattern very well. The socks will turn out so lovely!

  4. 4 elanknits May 21, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I like my socks short & the length you’re at now would be ok for me, love the colour too.

  5. 5 Marie-france May 21, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    I’d be happy with a 3 inch sock although I had told my pal 4 or 5 inches. It looks lovely as it is

  6. 6 knitty-kat May 21, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    I totally agree, stick with where it is now. 3 inches is great for a short sock and it looks lovely!


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


