The problem with buying yarn without having a pattern is…

…sometimes you don’t have enough. *sigh* I just started making the Evening Stocking for a Young Lady with my new awesome Shibui sock yarn. There is just something about this sock yarn that I can’t get enough of. It’s not quite as squishy as Koigu or Socks that Rock, nor as soft. There’s just…something about the stitch definition and the feel of the fabric on size 1 needles that I really like. And then there’s the color. Man. It can be really hard for me to find mostly solid super saturated sock yarns, and this yarn is perfect in that respect. Even Koigu, though awesome, doesn’t quite have the colors I’m looking for.  And it’s perfect for this pattern! (I heart Nancy Bush)

Ok, now that I’ve gone on and on about how awesome this sock yarn is, I’ll get to the point. I surfed Ravelry for tips on these socks, and was taken aback.  I knew they are long socks, and I want them to be long socks.  I don’t think I have enough yarn, even with the mods I’ve already made (made the cuff 1.5 inches instead of 3).  So, I will have to order one more skein.  Now, I’m not sure if I should wait until I finish one sock to do so, or just order one now.  I don’t know.

0 Responses to “The problem with buying yarn without having a pattern is…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


