FO: Evening Stockings for a Young Lady

My photography, as ever, is sucky, but…

Pattern: Evening Stocking for a Young Lady, from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush
Yarn: Shibui Sock, 3 skeins, Midnight; size 1 needle
Mods: None, sort of.  At first I only made the cuff ribbing 1 inch (because I thought I would have enough yarn with 2 skeins), but I changed that back to the way the pattern intended.  Oh, I did do 5 extra repeats before I started the decreases, for length.

These socks turned out really well, as evidenced by the speed with which I worked on them.  I finished these socks in about 8 days, which is a record for me (knee socks, you know.)  The one complaint is that they could be a bit longer, despite the mods.  I really enjoyed the pattern, and I could go on and on about how awesome the yarn is.  I think I may have found The Yarn.  You know, that sock yarn that you’re always searching for, the kind that has all the colors you want, the right amount of squish, and the best fabric/stitch definition.  I’ve already started a pair of Christmas socks for my sister using this yarn (in Peacock).

2 Responses to “FO: Evening Stockings for a Young Lady”


  1. 1 Cathy-Cate October 1, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    What do you mean, sucky photography? The two photographs you posted are loverly! And of course the socks are too. Verra nice all the way around.
    I just got some Shibui sock yarn but have not had the chance to knit it up yet (it would have to armwrestle other socks off the needles for that to happen).

  2. 2 Adrienne October 1, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Your socks look great!


Leave a Reply

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


