The curse of the pullover

I have this problem, where I can’t knit a pullover sweater that I like. Give me a cardigan pattern, and I can make it, and it looks great, fits great, everything (see evidence in FOs). But I have yet to knit a pullover that I am satisfied with enough to wear in public.   The side seams look funny.  There is a strange hole in the fabric that mysteriously appeared.  The sleeves are too short.  The neckline puckers in a disturbing way.  I have two finished sweaters languishing in a basket, waiting to be fixed in some way. Part of the reason that I wanted to participate in NaKniSweMo is because I wanted to find, make, and finish a sweater that I will actually wear.   I chose a pattern that is drastically different from the other two pullovers that I attempted (they both had very similar patterns).   So far, there has only been one issue with Snow White in progress: the tubular cast-on didn’t work the way it was supposed to. The wise women of the Knittyboard gave me a suggestion to fix that, though it involves cutting the yarn, re-picking up the stitches, and binding off. I suspect I’ll be blogging about that one, if only to save my sanity. I’m about to start the sleeves today (with a new and improved tubular cast-on), and I’m feeling fairly positive. And, I just finished one Christmas sock!

2 Responses to “The curse of the pullover”


  1. 1 Lillis November 12, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Have you seen the Ysoldas video tutorial for tubular cast on at her blog? She recommended her cast on for Snow White among others, so it could be worth a try.

  2. 2 Lillis November 12, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    Oh, and your Mermaid Gloves are beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, I love them!!


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


