Why I don’t buy wooden sock needles.

I played in a tabletop game on Sunday, so I wanted to bring appropriate knitting. My sweater is too big (it’s almost done, yay!!), so I decided to start my mother-in-law’s Christmas socks. After realizing that my first choice pattern is written for DK weight yarn, I am making Socks for Veronik (IK holiday 2007) in anklet form. Size 0 needles called for. Well, it just so happened that I had recently traded for some size 0 Lantern Moon ebony DPNs. Ebony is a harder wood, right? I won’t snap that like I do bamboo sock needles, right?

Yeah, that’s right. You can clearly see the tape on one of the needle (the beginnings of desperation) and the fact that I was using a long portion of one of the snapped-off needles to knit with (bald panic). Yes. But, I got them in a swap, so I’m not overly attached to them. And, I got my reward yarn today.

 

Yay Beaverslide! I’m looking forward to using this. It is a little scratchier than I would have hoped, but I suspect a good washing will cure that.

2 Responses to “Why I don’t buy wooden sock needles.”


  1. 2 Gina November 19, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Oh no! Have you tried bamboo needles? I’m not sure if they’re stronger than wood (I’ve heard they are, but not from an “official” source). I haven’t had a bamboo needle break on me *yet*


Leave a Reply

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


