Cast-on-athon!

On Christmas Eve, I ran out of yarn for Oblique.

(not in any way enough yarn)

I was, well, pissed. I sulked. I planned 2 new sweater projects to appease me while awaiting the final skein of Beaverslide in the mail. I ordered yarn for one of them (Gibson Girl Pullover, Interweave Knits Summer 2004). Then Christmas came. I received a swift, two knitting books, and purchased a knitting kit (via Destash) with Christmas money.

(kitten for scale)

The next day, yarn for the Gibson Girl pullover arrived. Since the Beaverslide hadn’t arrived for Oblique yet, I figured I would cast-on. And cast-on I did! Not only did I cast on for Gibson Girl, I also cast on for Christy. I have to say that the two projects are perfect together. Gibson Girl contains a moderately complicated all-over lace pattern that requires pretty much constant attention, and Christy is all garter stitch/stockinette stitch (read: mindless). All in all, I’m very pleased with my new projects. I’m trying not to think about how I currently have 3* sweaters on the needles.

*I also have the lotus blossom tank, which technically counts as a sweater, under the coffee table. Oh, and Juno…

3 Responses to “Cast-on-athon!”


  1. 1 molly December 27, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    sorry you ran out of yarn. i’m procrastinating on finishing my afghan. all the squares are done and sewn together, just need to kick my butt in gear and start on the border.

  2. 2 molly December 27, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    oh, and your kitten is adorable. 🙂

  3. 3 Cricket March 13, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Hi there. Found you while searching for feedback about the Gibson Girl Pullover. I love it, but it scares me just a widdle bit. May I ask you, what did you knit it in besides beautiful blueness (ie what were the fibers and/or yarn stats? And were you pleased with the process and the product, or was there more than the usual amount of intermittent swearing?

    Thanks for your help! This project will be a stretch for me if I do it, so I want to get it right. Also, I really, really want to give it a bit of a cowl neck, but that might be too much. I will be having a chat with my dear LYS folks about that eventually. If I tackle this!


Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


