Best of 2007

In the spirit of the season (?), I’ve decided to take a look back at my 2007 posts and reminisce. List courtesy of Knitlit.

1. your best FO of the year:

There are a number of FOs that I’ve really liked. I have to say, though, that the one I wear the most and think the most happy thoughts about is the Gothic Leaf Stole I made in June. It was nice to wear at the wedding, but it rocks as a scarf. It’s long, wide, and cashmere. Also, it’s just that color blue that goes with everything, though I certainly didn’t plan it that way. I wear it almost every day, and spend my boring meetings playing with it.

Second would be Oblique, because it’s so wearable.

2. best FO of the year made by a blog you link to:

Seriously, do I have to choose? January One’s mitered square blanket (which I think is a FO, but not sure). Emilee’s foliage. Wendyknit’s….socks! Blogs are my inspiration, so it’s really hard to choose just one FO.

3. best yarn you tried:

Definitely Shibui sock yarn: the colors are exactly right for me, and it creates a beautiful fabric. A close second is koigu (duh).

4. best new book/mag/pattern of 2007:

I received lots of books/magazines in 2007, so it’s hard to choose. I’d have to say that the fall Interweave Knits was a good one for me, but there aren’t really any standouts as far as I remember.

5. best new knitting technique or gadget you tried in 2007:

This came at the tail end of the year, but my swift wins this hands down. It is awesome.

6. top 5 inspirations–what five things inspired you the most over the past year?

Inspiration is hard. It’s hard to say what inspires me, and, based on my blog entries, I’m very flaky about what inspires me. Generally it’s a picture, or a color, but no one thing in particular. So I guess I’d say that the knitting community/knitblogs inspired me, because seeing all the finished projects spurred me to create/copy. This answer is a cop-out, I know, but tough. 🙂

7. designer who most amazed & inspired you throughout the year:

There were many designers who inspired me this year, but the big two were Eunny Jang and Veronik Avery. After going through my Ravelry queue and old FOs, I realized that many of the patterns were designed by one of these two.

8. knitting resolutions for 2008–what’s next for you and your blog?

There’s been a lot of talk around the blogosphere about being a “fearless knitter.” It’s a very interesting and inspiring concept, but when I thought about it, I’m already a fearless knitter (in my opinion). I knit what I want, when I want to, and pay no mind to difficulty ratings, complexity, or techniques involved. If it contains a technique I don’t know, I’ll learn it. The only reason I haven’t done colorwork yet is because, well, I’m too lazy. Also, all the colorwork projects got bumped for other, more motivating projects. I’m very product-based, as I’ve mentioned before. If I like what the end result looks like, or could look like, I must make it. So, my goals for 2008:
1. Colorwork: Including, but not limited to Eunny’s Venezia Pullover from Winter 2006 IK. My inspiration is this, two color version of the sweater, made by someone on ravelry. It’s just stunning.
2. Post more often. I don’t neglect the blog too much, but I’d like to post more about my knitting-in-progress, and other stuff. I joined the 2008 ABC-along, so that should help.
3. Take pictures of, organize, and potentially sell part of my stash.

There you have it! I think these goals will keep me busy during 2008, and I’m sure I’ll find more as the year goes on.

1 Response to “Best of 2007”



Leave a Reply

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


