The fires of motivation.

I finished three projects yesterday. I am very pleased with all of them, and just excited that I got so much stuff done. Observe:

This is a car shifter cover, something I just happened upon when I was looking on ravelry for a project for one skein of DK weight yarn. It took roughly two hours to complete, and is made from an unknown ball of yarn that I got in a swap. I think it might be Cherry Tree Hill sportweight. I’ve been thinking about duplicate stitching some sort of design on the top. Second:

This is a close-up of the pattern of my newly completed Old Shale smoke ring. I used Koigu Nori (50% silk 50% merino). I have to say that I do like this yarn, but I’m not completely pleased with the color. I think I should have just gone for the colors that koigu does best (the bright multi-colored yarns). Still, it’s very nice, and very, very stretchy. I don’t have an action shot of it yet, because it’s still blocking. Third (and best!):

This is a Little Silk Shrug (Pam Allen, Lace Style) made from the cursed yarn (DB Pure Silk). I am beyond thrilled with this: it’s stretchy, blue, and, well, awesome. It will go well with the many spaghetti-strap dresses I have, and allow me to wear said dresses to work. Take that, stupid dress code!

To celebrate my crushing victory over many of my outstanding works-in-progress, I immediately cast on for a new project with the leftover SweetGeorgia laceweight. Alhambra, by Anne Hanson. I love Anne Hanson designs almost as much as Nancy Bush, though I knit far fewer of them. I always love making lace, but I never wear it. Fortunately, she has many scarf/stole patterns that can work for smaller lace projects.  So far it’s looking stunning.

1 Response to “The fires of motivation.”


  1. 1 Molly June 5, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I LOVE the shrug!


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos


