I finished some stuff.

I am not going to buy any more yarn for one month. So, until June 15, no yarn purchase will be made by me. I went a little crazy, and bought some more sock yarn, some from Sundara and some through destash. It may have been because I also just signed up for Summer of Socks 2008, and desire to knit as many socks as I can during that period. I would like to knit through all my sock yarn stash, though that gets harder every time I buy more…

I also finished a few items:

Pattern: Broadripple, from Knitty
Yarn: Knitterly Things Vesper 100% Merino

These socks are awesome! This is the first time I’ve tried self-striping yarn, and it really is super cool. It also worked out that the stripes matched exactly on both socks (I’m not sure if that’s supposed to happen). The pattern was also really easy to memorize, and looks really good with this yarn. I’m very pleased with these.

Second:

Pattern: Hiiumaa Socks, from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush
Yarn: Koigu (purple and light pink), remants of Sweet Georgia sock yarn

Here we see the danger of dyelots. I knew that dyelots are different, especially with koigu. When I made the first sock (the lighter of the two with the hot pink), I thought I would have enough purple for both socks. Sadly, no, I didn’t, but then I figured that I could just go to Loop and buy more, since that’s where I got it from in the first place. Also no. They sold out of that color and haven’t gotten it back since. Additionally, I threw out the ball band, so I had no idea what dyelot it was. These are birthday socks for my sister that needed to be finished, so I succumbed to desperation and bought more koigu. Same color number, different dyelot. I still think these socks look okay, but I really wish I had enough to finish both.   The fact that it’s a Nancy Bush pattern eased my pain somewhat.  I’ll be giving my sister another pair sometime soon, certainly one of the pairs I make during Summer of Socks, which begins June 21st (I think).  Until then, I have a few other things to work on.

0 Responses to “I finished some stuff.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Am I a joiner?

In the maw

Venezia Sweater
55%
Seeded Cables Cardigan
50%
Alhambra
60%

Flickr Photos